Smart Prosperity

#NewThinking is good
for the environment
and the economy.

November 17, 2017

Twenty-four prominent leaders from business, environment, labour, research, youth and Indigenous organizations across Canada are issuing the following statement:  

“We congratulate Canada for joining the call by 24 nations to phase out coal power by 2030.  Coal power is the number one global source of greenhouse gas emissions, and a major source of air pollution that harms or kills millions of people and causes billions of dollars in economic costs worldwide each year.

Canada has shown real leadership on this issue.  Most provinces and territories have coal-free electricity systems.  Ontario phased out coal power in 2014, Alberta is in the process of doing so, and other provinces are making real progress, backed by a federal commitment to accelerate a nation-wide phase out of traditional coal power by 2030. 

Canada has one of the world’s cleanest electricity grids – with over 80% from non-emitting sources.  Given our abundant energy capacity, with a major push on new energy infrastructure, investment and innovation, plus conservation, we can transition off of coal power in a way that benefits the environment, the economy and society.  It is important that this be done in a way that supports affected workers and communities.”



Meredith Adler, Executive Director, Student Energy   

Dominic Barton, Global Managing Director, McKinsey and company

Ross Beaty, Chairman, Pan American Silver Corp; Executive Chairman, Alterra Power Corp

John Coyne, Vice President, Legal & External Affairs and General Counsel, Unilever Canada

Michael Crothers, President & Canada Country Chair, Shell Canada    

Arlene Dickinson, CEO, Venture Communications

Stewart Elgie*, Professor of law and economics, University of Ottawa

Richard P. Eno, CEO and Board Member, BioAmber

Greg Kiessling, Executive Chairman, Bullfrog Power

John Lounds, President and CEO, Nature Conservancy of Canada           

David Miller, President and CEO, WWF-Canada

Lorraine Mitchelmore*, CEO, Field Upgrading; Former President, Shell Canada        

Ken Neumann, Canadian National Director, United Steelworkers

Merrell-Ann Phare, Founding Executive Director, Centre for Indigenous Resources

David Runnalls, Board Chair, Pembina Institute

Vicky Sharpe,  Founding President and CEO, Sustainable Development Technology Canada

Jean Simard, President and CEO, Aluminium Association of Canada; Director, SWITCH

Merran Smith, Executive Director, Clean Energy Canada

Rick Smith, Executive Director, Broadbent Institute

Kirsten Tisdale, Managing Partner Government and Public Sector, EY (Ernst & Young)

Scott Vaughan, President and CEO, International Institute for Sustainable Development

Annette Verschuren*, CEO, NRStor; former CEO, Home Depot Canada

Rob Wesseling, President and CEO, The Cooperators

Galen Weston, President, Executive Chairman, Loblaw Companies Limited

* = Smart Prosperity Leaders' Initiative co-chairs

All are signing as individuals, not necessarily on behalf of their organizations