Smart Prosperity

#NewThinking is good
for the environment
and the economy.

NOVEMBER 17, OTTAWA — Twenty-one prominent leaders from business, environment, labour, research, youth and indigenous organizations across Canada are issuing the following statement: 

“We congratulate Canada for joining the call by 20 nations to phase out coal power by 2030. Coal power is the number one global source of greenhouse gas emissions, and a major source of air pollution that harms or kills millions of people and causes billions of dollars in economic costs worldwide each year.

Canada has shown real leadership on this issue. Most provinces and territories have coal-free electricity systems. Ontario phased out coal power in 2014, Alberta is in the process of doing so, and other provinces are making real progress, backed by a federal commitment to accelerate a nation-wide phase out of traditional coal power by 2030. 

Canada has one of the world’s cleanest electricity grids – with over 80 per cent from non-emitting sources. Given our abundant energy capacity, with a major push on new energy infrastructure, investment and innovation, plus conservation, we can transition off of coal power in a way that benefits the environment, the economy and society. It is important that this be done in a way that supports affected workers and communities.”


Meredith Adler, Executive Director, Student Energy          
Ross Beaty, Chairman, Pan American Silver Corp; Executive Chairman, Alterra Power Corp
John Coyne, Vice President, Legal & External Affairs and General Counsel, Unilever Canada
Michael Crothers, President & Canada Country Chair, Shell Canada       
Stewart Elgie*, Professor of law and economics, University of Ottawa
Richard P. Eno, CEO and Board Member, BioAmber
Greg Kiessling, Executive Chairman, Bullfrog Power
John Lounds, President and CEO, Nature Conservancy of Canada         
David Miller, President and CEO, WWF-Canada
Lorraine Mitchelmore*, CEO, Field Upgrading; Former President, Shell Canada
Ken Neumann, Canadian National Director, United Steelworkers
Merrell-Ann Phare, Founding Executive Director, Centre for Indigenous Resources
David Runnalls, Board Chair, Pembina Institute
Jean Simard, President and CEO, Aluminium Association of Canada; Director, SWITCH
Merran Smith, Executive Director, Clean Energy Canada
Rick Smith, Executive Director, Broadbent Institute
Kirsten Tisdale, Managing Partner Government and Public Sector, EY (Ernst & Young)
Scott Vaughan, President and CEO, International Institute for Sustainable Development
Annette Verschuren*, CEO, NRStor; former CEO, Home Depot Canada
Rob Wesseling, President and CEO, The Cooperators
Galen Weston, President, Executive Chairman, Loblaw Companies Limited

* = Smart Prosperity co-chairs

All are signing as individuals, not necessarily on behalf of their organizations

The Smart Prosperity Leaders’ Initiative was launched in 2016 by respected Canadian leaders from business, think tanks, labour, Indigenous Peoples, youth and NGO communities. Our purpose: To harness new thinking to accelerate Canada’s transition to a stronger, cleaner economy. For more information, please visit